Ring of Fire cd cover

Boals, Mark

Ring of Fire

You don’t get one note into this cd before getting smacked in the face with a harpsichord. Not exactly what I was hoping for, but for what it is, a neo-classic metal cd, it works. Mark has not strayed far from his roots with Yngwie. The album is very Malmsteen-esque, which explains his need for a guitarist of MacAlpine’s caliber. Throughout this cd Tony does some breathtaking guitar playing, but the real difference between this cd and an Yngwie disc, is the keyboards really stomp on a lot of the guitar here. Otherwise, the musicianship is top notch, the singing is great and after that last horrible Yngwie cd he was on (War to End all Wars) this definitely redeems Mark Boals. --Scott

Average Rathole Visitor Rating7.5

Track Listing

  1. Ring of Fire
  2. Atlantis
  3. Bringer of Pain
  4. Betrayer
  5. Keeper of the Flame
  6. The Hunted
  7. The Quest
  8. Dreamer
  9. Death Row
  10. Alone
  11. Battle of the Titan


VOCALS: Mark Boals
GUITAR: Tony MacAlpine
BASS: Mark Boals & Tony Mac Alpine
DRUMS: Virgil Donati
KEYBOARDS: Vitalij Kuprij


LABEL: Frontiers Records
“She awakens from a dream to a silent room where shadows speak of memories. Another sleepless night, afraid to face the day. It seems so long ago, she shared the love she feels so deep inside. Her love will never die, but still she feels so lonely…”