Shadow Zone cd cover

Pell, Axel Rudi

Shadow Zone

This album is very song oriented. It starts with a groove, or a mood, or a riff and just builds. It's not about ego with Axel, it's whatever is best for the song. If that means that the singer or the vocal melody takes center stage than that's what happens. And it does happen frequently, so it works out well that he recruited the powerful emotional voice of Johnny Gieoli. Musically the band is way above par. Technically proficient as you would expect from musicians from this genre, but most importantly the songs are really good. Catchy and memorable without being poppy, and interesting and well played without sounding arrogant or self serving. It's a fine line and they've walked it well. --Scott

Average Rathole Visitor Rating9.5

Track Listing

  1. The Curse of the Chains
  2. Edge of the World
  3. Coming Home
  4. Live for the King
  5. All the Rest of my Life
  6. Follow the Sign
  7. Time of the Truth
  8. Heartbreaker
  9. Saint of Fools
  10. Under the Gun


VOCALS: Johnny Gioeli
GUITAR: Axel Rudi Pell
BASS: Volker Krawczak
DRUMS: Mike Terrana
KEYBOARDS: Ferdy Doernberg


LABEL: Steamhammer
PRODUCED BY: Axel Rudi Pell
“I'll be ready then. I'll be waiting there. On the day you come to set me free, that day my life begins.”