David Readman cd cover

Readman, David

David Readman

  1. Without You
  2. Evil Combination
  3. Take these Tears
  4. Don't Let it Slip Away
  5. No Peace for the Wicked
  6. Long Way to Heaven
  7. Wild in the City
  8. Gentle Touch
  9. Prisoner of Shame
  10. New Messiah
  11. Over the Ocean
  12. Love in Vain

Honestly, I had mixed feelings when I heard about this cd. On the one hand, he's a great singer and I love his voice. On the other hand, he's already the singer of my favorite band, so chances are, his solo band will sound crappy by comparrison. I shouldn't have worried. The guitar playing on this record is nothing short of phenomenal. Alex Beyrodt (Silent Force) in particular is absolutely brilliant and of course being produced by Dennis Ward, the whole thing just couldn't sound any better. A lot of singers have a tendency to tone the guitars down when they embark on a solo project to make sure that the focus is the singing, but Readman was not afraid to share the spotlight and I think that approach worked wonders. But far from being over shadowed, Readman rose to the challenge, recording some fantastic melodies and harmonies. And the songs are very good. Readman wrote ten of the tracks himself and co-wrote the other two. And while there is obviously some similarity to PC69, the over-all sound is more commercial ... like Whitesnake in some place and almost like Nelson in some of the choruses (but with much heavier guitars). The bottom line is I love this cd. The musicianship is way above average, but the songs are simple and catchy enough that casual listeners will like it too. I hope he does this between every PC69 album! This one is essential. --Scott


Average Visitor Rating9.5
“If we don't know by now we could be losing everything. Please don't say it's over.”
© 1998 - 2024 RATHOLE.com